Mies van der Rohe Award 2011 Finalists Announced

The European Commission and the Mies van der Rohe Foundation have announced the six finalists competing for the 2011 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture - the Mies van der Rohe Award. They have been shortlisted from 343 works in 33 European countries. The award ceremony will take place on June 20 at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona, Spain.

The Architecture Foundation is on the Advisory Committee of the Mies van der Rohe Award. It is granted every two years by the European Union and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe, Barcelona, to acknowledge and reward quality architectural production in Europe.

The six finalists are:

Neues Museum Berlin, Germany
David Chipperfield Architects / David Chipperfield

Bronks Youth Theatre Brussels, Belgium
MDMA - Martine De Maeseneer Architecten / Martine De Maeseneer, Dirk Van den Brande

MAXXI: Museum of XXI Century Arts Rome, Italy
Zaha Hadid Architects / Zaha Hadid, Patrick Schumacher, Gianluca Racana

Concert House Danish Radio Copenhagen, Denmark
Ateliers Jean Nouvel / Jean Nouvel

Acropolis Museum Athens, Greece
Bernard Tschumi Architects / Bernard Tschumi

Rehabilitation Centre Groot Klimmendaal Arnhem, The Netherlands
Architectenbureau Koen van Velsen / Koen van Velsen

Previous winners include:

Banco Borges e Irmão, Vila do Conde, Portugal by Álvaro Siza Vieira
Stansted Airport , London, United Kingdom by Norman Foster / Norman Foster + Partners
Bibliothèque nationale de France, Paris, France by Dominique Perrault
Kunsthaus Bregenz, Bregenz, Austria by Peter Zumthor
Kursaal Centre, San Sebastián, Spain by Rafael Moneo
Car Park and Terminus Hoenheim North, Strasbourg, France by Zaha Hadid / Zaha Hadid Architects
Netherlands Embassy Berlin, Germany by OMA / Rem Koolhaas, Ellen van Loon
Norwegian National Opera & Ballet, Oslo, Norway by SNØHETTA / Kjetil Trædal Thorsen, Tarald Lundevall, Craig Dykers


Image: MAXXI: Museum of XXI Century Arts Rome, Italy, Zaha Hadid Architects. Photo by Iwan Baan